about me · fitness challenges · Half marathon training · Motivation Wednesday · Rest days

Motivational Wednesday

20140618-201920-73160439.jpg

So, as I sit here, upset about my ankle, I came across the quote, and I felt like it was talking to me in so many ways. As my friends know, I suffer from anxiety. My biggest issue is my constant worry and self doubt… About everything and nothing. For the past few nights, combined with the pain meds for my foot, I’ve been up worrying. About my foot, about my weight, about my husband leaving for a year, about my stepdaughter, about school, about work, and the list continues to go on and on. Keeps me up at nights. Makes my heart race. I’ve found that with running and working out, it has truly helped with my anxiety. It keeps me focused and my mind busy. When I am alone, not doing anything, that’s when the worry and self doubt kicks in. I’ve gotten a lot better since I was diagnosed a year ago. I thought this way of thinking, worrying, beating myself up, was normal. Clearly it isn’t. Unfortunately, this small injury has triggered it.
I know I will be fine and get out of this slump. Just have to keep moving. And as this quote says, know I’m doing the best I can!

18 thoughts on “Motivational Wednesday

  1. Having been on the injury front for about 18 months now, I totally hear where you are coming from! One thing I have learned from my own is it is so important to keep looking for the positive, even if you have to find it in other ways. Self doubt is something I have struggled with, but I am learning it is best not to let it control you, and to find happier things to dwell on, it will help with the slumps.
    It sounds like you have a lot on your plate right now, and your honesty is very refreshing! I don’t know what injury you are dealing with, but I hope you can find it healed as soon as possible!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, that voice in your head telling you that you are doing everything wrong is very hard. Im learning, with time and therapy, on how to shut it off….it used to take me to real dark places!

      Like

  2. Like you I have anxiety and I’ve been dealing with it for the past 10+ years but boy is it annoying. I completely understand what you are going through as I’ve been stuck with a neck injury for two years that I’m now going to physical therapy for and the sitting and thinking/worrying is a horrible part of it. But I can tell you that will all get better so long as you stay positive and remember to breath.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What happened to your ankle? (Clearly this is my first time visiting your blog!) I just posted about how I sprained my ankle after my race this past weekend, and I’m stressing because I am training for a half marathon (I see you are as well, yay!). I’m new to running, so I’m at a loss. I have anxiety too, you are not alone! Thank you for being so open about it. It’s hard to be vulnerable but talking about it, in my opinion, helps a lot. Sending you positive, healing vibes! -Lyndsay

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I will definitely keep coming back! 🙂 I just found you through the Run Blog Society (at least I think that’s how haha I’m in so many FB groups, I can’t keep track!). I’m glad it’s feeling better already though, good luck!! ❤

        Like

  4. I love that saying. I am my own worst critic (enemy!). I doubt myself every day about everything. I question whether I am parenting right, wife-ing right, blogging right…. being a little gentler on myself is a daily struggle.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, I admire your honesty and openness! Anxiety–along with worry, self-doubt, fear, etc.–is something I fight every day as well. Running is the only time my mind turns off, so I truly understand how disheartening an injury can be. Hope you’re up and running very soon! 🙂

    Like

  6. I worry too much too. I try to breathe, let go, pray, but still my heart is racing over things I have no control over. Thank goodness for running and friends who understand!

    Like

  7. I love this quote, I added it to my motivation wall just this morning! I have anxiety too and workout helps me as well, I hope your foot heals quickly. You’re in my thoughts and prayers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

