First half marathon · Half marathon training · running · Uncategorized

Countdown to My First Half Marathon!

Looking at the calendar and I can’t believe in 48 days I will be running my first half marathon!!! When I got this far in my training last year, I wound up in the hospital for reasons unrelated to running. But here I am, running 6 miles tomorrow for my long run, and I’m almost there!

20140412-182100.jpg
Yup, totally thought of Princess and the Frog there!!

Details of my half marathon:

20140412-182156.jpg

The Run for the Dream was created in 2011 as a fundraiser for An Achievable Dream, a non-profit organization that operates two nationally recognized K–12 schools in partnership with Newport News Public Schools. Although An Achievable Dream no longer owns the Run for the Dream, the organization will continue as a beneficiary of the event.

The race will start at the Colonial Williamsburg Regional Visitors Center, wind through the Historic Area of Colonial Williamsburg and take runners down Route 60 to the Carter’s Grove Country Road for a scenic yet challenging run before returning to the City of Williamsburg and the Historic Area, with a photo finish in William and Mary’s Zable Stadium!

20140412-182421.jpg
Today the race coordinators posted the finishers medal:

20140412-185340.jpg

So exciting!!

Do you remember your first half marathon? Any tips for me?!</strong>

2 thoughts on “Countdown to My First Half Marathon!

  1. My first half marathon is actually in 3 weeks. I almost did one last month but got really sick the day before it. I’ve learned to just have fun and enjoy it! Good luck and I hope your training goes well 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

